This year's juries have been very diverse and have selected some of the industry's most unique creators.

The annual lists of the American Film Institute with the ten best films and TV shows of the year contain several front-runners. The two juries – a mix of critics, academics and film professionals – always celebrate the best of American cinema and television. Due to their international background, Bong Joon Hos "Parasite" and Phoebe Waller-Bridges "Fleabag" received special prizes from American Film Institute filmjurys, including "Roma" last year.

This year's harvest is diverse with films by veterans Clint Eastwood, Sam Mendes, Martin Scorsese, Noah Baumbach and Quentin Tarantino, as well as relatively new people like Todd Phillips, Taika Waititi and Rian Johnson.

Eight of the ten films were shot by men, and two women, Greta Gerwig ("Little Women") and Lulu Wang ("The Farewell"), were also on deck in honor. On the TV side newcomers "Watchmen", "Fosse / Verdon" and "Chernobyl" joined recurring shows like "The Crown" while "The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel" was omitted this time.

Oscar hopefuls not included in the top 10 of the film include "Bombshell," "A nice day in the neighborhood," "Dark Waters," "Dolemite is my name," "Ford versus Ferrari," Harriet ". A Hidden Life, Honey Boy, The Lighthouse, The Peanut Butter Falcon, The Report, The Rocketman, The Two Popes, and Waves.

The full list of film and television winners can be found below.

AFI movies of the year


"The good bye"

"The Irishman"

"Jojo Rabbit"


"Knife out"

"Little woman"

"Marriage history"

"Once upon a time in Hollywood"

"Richard Jewel"

Special Price: "Parasite"

AFI TV programs of the year


"The crown"

"Fosse / Verdon"

"Game of Thrones"






"If you see us"

Special price: "Fleabag"

As usual, this year's jury-one for film and one for television-was chaired by Tom Pollock (former vice chairman of MCA, chairman of Universal Pictures) for film and Richard Frank (former chairman of Walt Disney Television) (president of Walt Disney Studios , President of the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences) for television. The juries included actors John Amos and Delroy Lindo, directors Betty Thomas and Lesli Linka Glatter, writer Callie Khouri, film writer, scholar and film historian Leonard Maltin, and the AFI Board of Trustees.

The annual AFI Awards lunch (January 3) is a delightful gathering where the film and television industry gathers to celebrate the best of the year.

Log In: Stay up to date on the latest movie and TV news! Sign up for our e-mail newsletter here.