Elections in the Turkish part of Cyprus | Europe up to date | DW

The inhabitants of the self-proclaimed Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus (RTCN) began voting this Sunday (11.10.2020) to elect a leader for the northern third of the Mediterranean island, occupied by Turkey since 1974. The 758 polling stations opened to 08:00 (07:00 CET) and were to close at 18:00.

Some 198,867 people are registered on the electoral lists of the RTCN, the area of ​​the island that Turkey has occupied since 1974, in reaction to a coup that sought to annex Cyprus to Greece. Eleven candidates ran for the election, including the outgoing “president” favored by the polls, Mustafa Akinci.

The president is a 72-year-old Social Democrat in favor of reunifying the island and reducing ties with Ankara, which has earned him the hostility of Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan. If neither candidate gets 50% of the vote, the first two will face off in a second round, on October 18. (afp)


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.