With three pilots sanctioned, this is the grid of the Turkish GP

Lance Stroll has been the unexpected ‘poleman’ of the Turkish Grand Prix and will command a grid that has suffered numerous variations as a result of the sanction imposed on three riders, including Carlos Sainz.

For the first time this season, a Mercedes car will not command the gridAs the madness of the Turkish Grand Prix ended up awarding the jackpot to Lance Stroll, who after a superb qualifying session will start from pole on Sunday.

The Canadian rider has beaten Max Verstappen and his teammate Sergio Pérez, with Lewis Hamilton behind in sixth position and the only rider who can avoid being proclaimed world champion in Istanbul Park, Valtteri Bottas, ninth.

But, further back, a total of nine drivers have had their grid position altered as a result of the sanctions imposed on Carlos Sainz, Lando Norris and George Russell, the latter twice.

The Williams driver was already sent to the back of the grid on Friday after being forced to use his fourth engine of the season, but in addition Russell received five penalty positions after failing to respect the yellow flags in qualifying.

For its part, McLaren drivers They also received penalty positions, in the case of Sainz three for obstructing Sergio Pérez and in that of Norris five places for not respecting the yellow flags.

2020 Turkish Grand Prix Formula 1 grid

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.